I was notified of the new function of the Return to Artist button, and I wanted to check and see if there was any way to... change this back to the original setting. After speaking with Support, as of right now this is not an option.
If a piece has been returned to the artist, I don't see why it would make sense for the location to be anything other than Returned to Artist. This is going to add a lot of friction to our returns process, which is something we specifically moved to ArtCloud to try and alleviate. Yeah, the batch edit will still help to accommodate most of this, but I struggle to see a situation where a gallery would mark an artwork as returned before it's... actually returned. This just feels like a very strange step since the Return to Artist tool now essentially just acts like a Deactivate button, especially since it is already possible to remove pieces from an ArtCloud managed website without removing them from inventory.